Zucchini, Corn & Quinoa Bowl with Grilled Chicken and Lemon

Red alert, red alert! SUMMER IS ALMOST OVER 😦 😦 😦 This realization hit me square in the face today and it made me incredibly sad. I cannot believe I only have two weeks left until I start work; its kind of ridiculous. This weekend I am planning on moving out of my old apartment and into a new one, so I have been busy finishing up my summer DIY projects (see later blog post) and packing up my things. Through this process, I have notice two things: summer goes by WAY too fast, and that I have WAY too much stuff.  Seriously. The amount of stuff I have accumulated over the years, and especially this summer, blows my freaking mind. I am crossing my fingers that it will all fit into my new place. This summer, I was fortunate enough to spend some quality time with my family and friends in good ole’ Iowa. We went on many family road trips across the Midwest, went camping, and celebrated a wedding! My friends are super great and made the times we did get to spend with each other a blast! Special thanks to Kenzie for letting me crash on your daybed and spoil Greys for you :). I am sad it is all coming to and end. But I guess I have to admit that I am slightly ready for school to start up again (somebody hit me).

I am a firm believer in quinoa bowls. They are actually the greatest thing ever, especially if you season them right. I mean if you like quinoa plain…all power to you, but you are dead wrong. I make my favorite burrito bowl recipe a lot while I am at school; it is the perfect after workout meal and they reheat and freeze wonderfully. I decided I needed to expand my bowl pallet so I searched the holy grail (aka pintrest) for the perfect recipe to force my guinea pig family to try with me. I found this one and knew I had to give it a try!

First, chop up all those fresh ingredients – zucchini, corn and green onions. I used sweet corn and just took it all off the cob. If you don’t love sweet corn, you are not a real human so goodbye. Anyway, then start the quinoa. This recipe calls for cooking the quinoa in chicken broth – I chose to do this, but if you don’t like chicken broth or want a significantly less sodium, just cook the quinoa regularly (i.e. with water). Place two parts quinoa and 1 part water in a saucepan and cook on medium-high heat until it boils, then lower it to a simmer until all the water has been absorbed by the quinoa (about 15 minutes). Once the quinoa is finished, top off with some olive oil and lemon zest. Okay, rant beginning. I freaking hate lemon zest-ing. It is so dumb. I don’t feel it adds anything of significance to any dish, but whatever. I digress. While the quinoa is cooking, sauté the minced garlic with olive oil in another saucepan for about 10-20 seconds. Then add the chopped zucchini and corn and sauté for 8-10 minutes (or until the veggies are cooked). Place the quinoa, veggies, some lemon juice and grilled chicken into a large bowl and mix that all together. Oh yeah, make sure to cook some pan seared or chicken on the grill while the quinoa cooks too! Finally top with green onions and feta cheese and viola! This quick and easy recipe turned out to be one of my favorites that I have cooked all summer. All the fresh ingredients and the power-packed quinoa made this a very healthy and filling meal which is a combination that is not easy to find. The zucchini and the sweet corn made this meal more sweet than other bowls that I have made in the past which was an unexpected, yet refreshing experience. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quick meal that packs a healthy punch!

Recipe:

http://www.cookingclassy.com/2015/06/zucchini-corn-and-quinoa-bowls-with-grilled-chicken-and-lemon/

Ingredients:

Chicken, quinoa, chicken broth, salt & pepper, olive oil, lemon juice (and zest), minced garlic, zucchini, sweet corn (off the cob), green onions, feta cheese

IMG_6050 IMG_6052 IMG_6054

Leave a Reply

