Spicy Pineapple Chicken Kabobs

I cannot believe that it is already July; summer has flown by like it always does, leaving me wishing it was June again so I can relive the fun-filled and relaxing summer days. However, I am no time travel expert so heading back to June won’t be in my future. I am looking forward to all July has to offer though. The fourth was a blast! (see what I did there?!) and I am looking forward to a trip to the Ozarks and some camping coming up later this month. Before I know it, it will be time to move back to good ole’ Macomb and start my second year of graduate school. Until then, I have some recipes to make!

I am a lover of all things hot and spicy. I love seasoning and will put chili powder and cayenne pepper on pretty much anything. Unfortunately, I am the only one in my family who digs the spicy stuff. My parents and my brother all cringe when I load up on sriracha mayo on my hamburgers. So as you can assume, getting these folks to try something with a little kick isn’t always easy. But luckily with this recipe, I had pineapple on my side. If you do not like pineapple, I do not like you. Pineapple is the greatest fruit of all time. I love pineapple cold and I love it even more when it is warm (especially on pizza – don’t you even dare think of saying “gross” until you try it). I hoped that if I enticed them with the chicken and the pineapple that they would not even notice the spice. In my opinion, it worked pretty well!

These kabobs are pure perfection. The combination of the juicy chicken and pineapple and the crunchy peppers and onions made this the perfect summertime meal. Its a bonus that you can sit outside and enjoy the great weather while grilling these babies. But before you get grilling, you’ll need to soak the chicken in a marinade for at least 4-8 hours. Make sure to cover it with plastic wrap or a lid. I chopped the chicken breast into chunks before marinating, making it easier to take them out and place them on the kabobs. The marinade includes ingredients such as pineapple juice, soy sauce, honey, vinegar, sesame oil, olive oil, garlic powder and ground ginger. I mixed all of the ingredients early in the day and let the chicken marinate in the fridge while I went about my day. When in came closer to dinner time, I began making the grilling sauce. Don’t forget this step! It definitely makes a difference. If you are not about spicy foods, maybe leave out the sriracha sauce. If you love spice, like me, add all the sriracha your little heart desires! The grilling sauce consists of pineapple juice, honey, sriracha, olive oil and soy sauce. You’ll take all the ingredients and place them in a small saucepan and bring it to a boil. Once its boiled, reduce the heat to a simmer for 4-6 minutes. After that, remove it from the heat, but keep it handy. This sauce comes into play later. To get the kabobs looking fabulous, begin to cut some onions as well as red, orange and yellow peppers into chunks. Take the marinated chicken out of the fridge and collect some pineapple chunks and begin to place those in an alternating pattern on the kabob sticks. You can get about 6-8 pieces of chicken on each kabob. If you use wooden skewers like we do, DO NOT forget to soak them in water for at least 30 minutes before the grilling begins. Once the kabobs are looking fine, brush the grilling sauce over each one, fully coating each side in spicy happy sauce. Next comes the grill prep. Lightly coat the coils of the grill and place the kabobs on. Heat the grill to medium-high heat and lightly brush with more grilling sauce if desired for the next 12-15 minutes as you turn the kabobs and cook the chicken until it is fully cooked. The best part is next: EAT THESE BAD BOYS. I thought they were just spicy enough and full of flavor. We served the kabobs with white rice and some asparagus coated with olive oil, garlic salt and lemon pepper seasoning. I like to pour any extra grilling sauce over my white rice to make it not so bland. All in all, this meal not only kept me full, but it was absolutely the best combination of sweet and spicy. A great grilling recipe to break up the monotony.

Recipe:

http://www.thegunnysack.com/2014/05/spicy-pineapple-chicken-kabobs.html

Ingredients:

Chicken breast (cut into chunks), 1 bag of mini orange, red and yellow peppers, 1 onion, 20 oz can of pineapple chunks (save the juice – you’ll need it!)

Pineapple marinade and pineapple grilling sauce: pineapple juice, soy sauce, honey, vinegar, sesame oil, ginger, garlic powder, olive oil, sriracha sauce

IMG_5438 IMG_5441 IMG_5454 IMG_5455

Leave a Reply

