Turkey Burger

I am going to start this post with a hope that I didn’t give myself food poisoning. I feel like this a reoccurring theme in my life; loving to cook, but not really knowing what I’m doing, thus eliciting the fear of death by food poisoning. Hey, maybe its just the psychologist/hypochondriac in me, but its how I feel! Anywhoooooo, when I was in Lincoln, NE last weekend, I ate the most amazing thing I have ever eaten in my life. It was a sriracha mayo veggie burger from some restaurant that Hilary took me to with her Mom and sister. I don’t even know how to describe it, it was that freaking good. It was a Friday, and I was dreading the usual temptation to eat meat. When I ran across this burger, I knew it was fate. Somewhere deep within, a combination of my Catholic guilt and my desire to try something new prompted me to order this. AND HOLY CRAP IT WAS GOOD. I didn’t know veggie patties could be that flavorful. I always feared they would taste like earth and bugs, but I was (luckily) pleasantly surprised.

My craving for this burger hit me like a ton of bricks yesterday. I got back into town (Macomb) around dinner time and realllllllyyyyyy wanted this burger. Unfortunately, my laziness (and a huge paper due on Monday) prevented me from driving to Lincoln to pick this puppy up. So I settled for leftover pizza (not complaining). While at bored at work, I got on pintrest to see if I could find something that resembled my beloved veggie patty. I found a recipe that I felt I had to try, hence the turkey burger being placed on the menu for tonight. I picked up ground turkey, a red onion and parsley from the store among $50.00 worth of groceries and got cooking. I had salt, pepper and garlic salt at home already along with some leftover sea salt French fries and pretzel buns from a previous burger extravaganza, making this meal pretty cheap! I chopped up the onions and parsley, meaning I put them in my food processor and hit “chop” and folded that into the ground turkey along with the garlic salt, pepper and salt. I cooked these puppies for 7-10 minutes of each side until they weren’t pink in the middle (fingers crossed I don’t throw up all over the place in 24 hours). I doused the patties in sriracha mayo, topped with chipotle cheddar cheese and placed them on the pretzel bun next to a pile of fries. I will admit, these were not nearly as good as the burger I had in Lincoln, BUT they were still great all the same! An excellent way to bring some meat into my pasta-filled diet, without making me feel like I ate an entire cow. I hadn’t had a turkey burger before so this was a new experience. To be honest, I couldn’t tell the difference. The ground turkey was cheap and lean so it made a great substitute for ground beef. Thankfully, this recipe made enough for 8 patties. I cooked 3 for leftovers for the rest of the week and froze the rest for happiness later on! All-in-all another fantastic recipe! P.s. if you couldn’t tell, I LOVE SPICY FOOD. If you aren’t as cool as I am or if you have a weak stomach, I would avoid the sriracha mayo and chipotle cheddar. Try regular mayo and cheddar instead!

Ingredients:

1lbs ground turkey, 1 medium red onion (chopped), 1/2 cup of parsley (chopped), 1tbs garlic salt, 1tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, optional: sriracha mayo, chipotle cheddar cheese, pretzel bun

Recipe:

http://userealbutter.com/2008/05/03/turkey-burgers-recipe/

IMG_4464 IMG_4475 IMG_4481

Leave a Reply

