Back in Action

I apologize for the hiatus. Writing about leftovers and generally un-exciting meals didn’t really sound like something I would want to read about, meaning you all would absolutely hate it. I don’t blame you. BUT I AM BACK NOW so its all good. I am lucky to have such great family and friends who have really supported me through this whole new blog writing process. For my birthday last week, I got three cookbooks. That’s right, I said THREE!! I was so excited to have hundreds of new recipes at my fingertips that I just could not wait any longer than to try one out. Tonight, I decided to make something super adventurous. Mainly because I needed to procrastinate on all of my school work and what better way to do that than spend the time cooking? Secondly, I was feeling extra blah today and really needed a pick-me-up. Up on tonight’s cook-list was a spring veggie bowl with red curry lime sauce. In the spirit of my new cookbook entitled Thug Kitchen – Eat Like You Give a Fuck, HOLY FUCKING SHIT GUYS. This recipe was AMAZING. I cannot even describe how delicious it was. I love food with a kick, so curry was something that I always have wanted to try, but have yet to do so, until tonight! The curry sauce can be made more or less intense very easily, so it really is the perfect sauce when your leftovers (or really whatever you are eating ) is feeling a little bland. Thug Kitchen is a vegan and gluten-free cookbook so it was nice to know that all of the ingredients I was using were going to be good for my body. But I have needs. And those needs involve eating meat. So instead of the Ginger-Sesame tofu the recipe called for, I used chicken breast. I marinated the chicken in the Ginger-Sesame marinade while I got all of the other ingredients ready and began cooking. I am not going to lie, this recipe has A LOT of steps. I had to marinate the chicken and cook it on the stove top, make the curry sauce and cook the rice noodles and the veggies. It took me an hour to cook everything. I would suggest making the curry the night before and keeping it in the fridge overnight and then simply warming it up when all of the rest of the ingredients are ready. Despite how long this recipe took to make, it was 100% worth it. The flavors were fantastic; the chicken and the veggies and the curry sauce mixed with the rice noodles were SO GOOD. Like I said, I cannot put into words how great this meal was. It is definitely one you all should try!

I would type out all of the ingredients for everything, but I would be here all night. Check out the pictures of the recipe book for the ingredients and steps for making the Ginger-Sesame marinade, the red curry sauce and the noodles/rest of it.

P.S. I forgot to buy the toasted sesame oil so I used regular stir-fry oil instead.

IMG_4302 IMG_4301 IMG_4300 IMG_4299 IMG_4291 IMG_4289

Leave a Reply

