Friday: Balsamic Glazed Salmon

ITS FINALLY FRIDAY! WOOHOO! Fridays is my favorite day of the week, not only because its Friday, but because I get to see my client. What is unique with my program here at WIU is that beginning the first week of class, the first-year students (like myself) get to sit in with one of the faculty who conducts therapy. We do this until the end of the year and once our second year begins, we take on our own case load (with weekly supervision of course). I have learned so much about what therapy is like in these past few months and I look forward to getting to learn more as the semester continues. After our client appointment, we have a staffing meeting where the Clinical faculty and the students get together and discuss new cases. During this time, the second-year students present on their clients – mainly this is a group supervision process where we all listen and provide our input. At first, the idea of doing this (or even participating in discussion) made me so nervous. But the faculty here are so supportive and do a great job of challenging us to do and be better. Today staffing was even better than usual because there was a baby there. I repeat: a infant nug was at our staffing meeting! One of our faculty members had a baby in December and today was the first time we all got to meet him. He was absolutely precious, yet very distracting; we spent the first 10 minutes of the meeting cooing at him and talking about how cute he was! I get done with my Friday obligations at 12:30 so I have spent the rest of my day doing laundry, cleaning my room and watching Friends. 🙂

Since lent started Wednesday, fish Fridays have officially begun! When I was looking for recipes for today, I knew I wanted to try to make something that included fish rather than my usual pasta copout. I saw this recipe and knew I had to try it! This was the first time I have cooked fish before, let alone salmon so it was an interesting experience. This recipe had three times as many ingredients as yesterday’s meal, but it was still super easy to prepare. When I was at the store, I didn’t buy any white wine because I already had some at home. Well, I drank the wine (sorry not sorry) earlier in the week. So in the glaze, I substituted white wine vinegar in the recipe for the white wine. I heated the glazed until it came to a boil and then let it simmer for 15 minutes. I truly underestimated the power of rosemary. It is so good and really made this recipe shine (for me personally). I then cooked the salmon on the skillet for four-five minutes on each side. I really hope I cooked it thoroughly; I will keep you all posted if I happen to get food poisoning. I poured the glaze on top of the salmon and devoured it. I thought it tasted pretty good, but I think my substitution of white wine vinegar definitely changed the consistency and the taste of the glaze from the original recipe. However, it was still pretty good. If I make this again (which I am sure I will) I will try to exercise some self-control with the wine and use that in the glaze rather than the white wine vinegar. I paired the salmon with steamed asparagus with lemon juice and mashed potatoes. I highly recommend trying these potatoes if you haven’t already (see picture). They are so freaking good that I could eat them as a meal by themselves. #starchproblems Overall, this was a great seafood meal with lots of flavor (especially the rosemary). With lent being 40 days long, I am sure I will get the hang of cooking fish to perfection!

Recipe

http://www.cookingclassy.com/2014/03/balsamic-glazed-salmon/

Ingredients

Salmon: salmon, salt & pepper, and canola oil; Glaze: Balsamic vinegar, white wine, honey, Dijon mustard, fresh rosemary, minced garlic

IMG_4249 IMG_4250

Leave a Reply

