Tuesday: Quinoa Chicken Pesto Stuffed Peppers

Tuesdays are the worst, almost worse than Mondays (at least for me). I have class from 9-2 non-stop, then work after until 4:30. I don’t know how you real people do it with your real people jobs and real people schedule. One day of it and I am exhausted. Needless to say, I was definitely not in the mood to cook tonight when I got home. Luckily, I convinced 2 ladies in my cohort to celebrate fat Tuesday with me by going to McDonalds for the famous Shamrock Shake and some Diet Coke right after work. Damn. I love those things. McDonalds should seriously consider keeping them around all the time. For lent for the past 4 years I have given up Diet Coke. This year will be no different. I am hoping that one of these times it will stick and I can finally give it up for good. No such luck (yet). So I had my last diet coke until Easter and enjoyed my delicious minty shake with good friends.

When I got home, it was already time to start making dinner. Thankfully, I picked the easiest recipe to make for today. These 5 ingredient stuffed peppers were fantastic and so easy to make! I have made stuffed peppers before and felt iffy about them. This recipe was just up my alley. I began by boiling the chicken, thus making it easier to shred when it was cooked. I opened up my peppers so I could take out the seeds and gunk and when I cut open my second one, I saw this! (see middle picture below) AH WHAT IS THAT? I love peppers and I have cut up a lot in my day, but I have never seen this before. If you can explain what happened in there, please help a sista out. After I got over my shock, I boiled the peppers for 2 minutes (not entirely sure why, but whatevs). While all this was happening the quinoa was doing its thing. When all the ingredients were finally done, I mixed them in a bowl, added the pesto, threw a shit ton of cheese in there and stuffed those peppers full. At the store, I only bought 2 peppers, but made the full recipe for everything else. Obviously, I had a crap ton of left overs so half went into the freezer and half in the fridge for later this week. I cannot brag enough about these bad boys; they were great! I am a firm believer that pesto sauce and cheese were God’s true gift to this world and any recipe that has both is A-Okay in my book. One thing about this recipe that I did not follow was the broil part in the beginning. My oven doesn’t have a broil feature so I skipped that step and boiled the peppers instead. All in all, another great and quick recipe!

Recipe:

http://layersofhappiness.com/5-ingredient-pesto-chicken-stuffed-peppers/

Ingredients:

Yellow peppers, pesto sauce, mozzarella cheese, quinoa and chicken

IMG_4228 IMG_4230 IMG_4231

One thought on “Tuesday: Quinoa Chicken Pesto Stuffed Peppers

  1. You’re wonderful. This looks delicious. Also, I think you boil (or broil if your oven had that feature) the pepper so it isn’t so crunchy and raw.

    Like

Leave a Reply

