Monday: Apple, Bacon and Cheddar Grilled Cheese

This one is a shout out to my friend Brynne who is a lover of all things grilled cheese. I found this recipe on Pinterest of course. As soon as I saw it, I knew I needed to make it immediately. The recipe at face value seemed easy enough so it would be perfect for a Monday night meal. All of the ingredients were easy to find at the store (I went to Hy-vee, the only good grocery store here in Macomb). However, finding Rosemary Cheddar is almost impossible. I gave up after a very long 5 minute search and settled for Rosemary and Olive Oil Asiago instead. Something that I wish bread-makers would realize is that people who live alone cannot and will not be able to finish an entire loaf of bread before it gets moldy. All I ask is for half or 1/3 loaves. Someday… Anywho, the process of cooking and pulling together the ingredients for the innards of the grilled cheese went well enough. However, I will admit that I burnt my caramelized onions (opps!). Other than that minor setback, my meal came together fairly smoothly! Overall, I LOVED this one. Such an interesting flavor, full of sweetness from the honey and apple and savory-ness from the onions and bacon. Definitely one to keep around! I made the full recipe and had plenty of leftovers. I put mine in the food processor and made a chutney almost. Looking forward to trying this in a wrap for lunch tomorrow!

Recipe:

http://projectdomestication.com/2012/09/apple-bacon-and-cheddar-grilled-cheese-sandwiches-with-caramelized-onions/

Ingredients:

Olive oil, red onion, salt, pepper, honey, Rosemary cheddar (or asiago!), honeycrisp apple and some sourdough bread

IMG_4224

p.s. I was obviously too excited and could not wait to try this before I had a chance to take a picture 🙂

One thought on “Monday: Apple, Bacon and Cheddar Grilled Cheese

Leave a Reply

